Site icon Kaboutjie

The 3 Stages of Labour

baby just born

Going into labour and giving birth is something many moms dread, part of it can be not knowing much about laboour. It is always best to go into labour knowing exactly what to expect and when, here are the basics of what to expect during the 3 Stages of Labour.

3 Stages of Labour

Stage 1: Early Labour

The early stage of labour begins when the cervix begins to soften and open up, this stage is complete when the cervix has opened to about 10 cms. It is the longest stage of labour and take hours to a few days. You may feel nothing for quite a long time, then you will feel some pain and discomfort. There is no pattern and contractions are irregular.

Contractions will then start to become regular with shorter intervals in between. Contractions will become longer and build in intensity. You will need to know how you will cope with pain during labour.

Very often early labour begins with Braxton Hicks contractions that progress into labour.

In Early Labour you may have:

      1. Lower back pain
      2. Period like pain that comes and goes
      3. Loose bowels movements
      4. Blood-stained mucous discharge known as blood show
      5. Water breaking
      6. An urge to vomit

Stage 2: Active Labour

This stage is from when the cervix is dilated to 10 cms until the baby is born.

In Active Labour you may have:

      1. Longer and stronger contractions with an interval of 1 to 2 minutes in between
      2. The urge to push
      3. Increased pressure on your bottom
      4. Stretching and burning feelings in your vagina
      5. Shaky, cramps, nauseas and vomiting

The pushing phase can last up to 2 hours.

Stage 3 – Delivering the placenta

This stage is from when your baby has been born until after the placenta has been delivered.

Read also: 6 Powerful Affirmations For A Peaceful Birth

What was your experience of labour like? Share in the comments below!

Exit mobile version